Rainydaywisdom's Blog

revelations and inspirations of everyday life…

All things NEW January 30, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — rainydaywisdom @ 5:32 PM
Tags:

Wait for the LORD; be strong and take heart and wait for the LORD. -Psalm 27:14

Almost a month ago, a new year began.  Almost two months ago  I was in New York.  Christmas time brought several new things:  a Keurig coffee pot, inexpensive “fake” new red TOMS, a golden retriever puppy for my Dad and on and on I could go.  Most impacting out of all of these “new” things would have to be New York.  New York gave me a revived vision, motivation and insight. New York allowed me to see more than just myself again (there will be a separate post about my NYC trip).

In reference to all of the “new” things in my life listed above, a good friend of mine reminded me that “there is nothing new under the sun.”  The application of his comment was light-hearted and ironic, but all in all it is a true statement.

What has been will be again, what has been done will be done again; there is nothing new under the sun. Ecclesiastes 1:9

The word new as it is being used here means “of a kind now existing or appearing for the first time (dictionary.com).”  Most often when I refer to something as new, I mean it is new to me or it is something that has been renewed.

Create in me a clean heart, O God,and renew a right spirit within me. -Psalm 51:10

The psalmist speaks of a renewed spirit.  It is still the same spirit he is talking about, but his desire is that it is set right in the sight of the Lord.  Then we have these words coming from Lamentations 3:22-24(NIV):

It is of the LORD’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not.

 They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness.

 The LORD is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in him.

This use of the word new, can be tied to this definition of the word:  fresh or unused.  Renewed would also work in this instance.  This is the beauty of the Gospel.  Day by day, our God is constant and his grace and mercy toward us are renewed.  This world has nothing new to offer us, but in Christ we get a fresh start.

Don’t mistake the happiness that “new” things bring to your life for the joy of being renewed day by day by the gospel of Jesus Christ.

 

4 Responses to “All things NEW”

  1. Rusty Gates Says:

    I really love your thought on renewing. While there is in fact nothing new under the sun, we look forward to the day when he who is seated on the throne says, “Behold, I am making all things new.” This is an interesting paradox, because it will be a world, it will be our world… but made new. Re-New.
    Every day his mercies are Re-New. Same mercies… new day…

  2. Olivia Says:

    Wow, what an inspiring post to read in the morning! Thank you for sharing with everyone, Amanda!

  3. This is timely for me… I truly needed to read this today, Praise the Lord for His still small voice…

  4. Greetings, I’m Christine and I’m definitely glad that I stumbled on wordpress.
    com. I have got a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
    I was curious to know how you focus yourself and open up your mind
    before writing. I have had problems clearing my mind
    in order to get my ideas out. I really do enjoy writing, however it just seems
    like the first ten to 15 mins are lost simply just trying to determine how to get started.

    Do you have any advice or techniques?


Leave a comment